Let’s do a little time travel on here today, eh?

My obsession with Titanic started maybe 15 years ago when I was just a wee little one. I don’t remember quite how I first found out about it, probably in a book or by my mom going Yea there was some big ship that sank & lots of people died a long time ago. Anyway, I was forever intrigued. I saw the movie as soon as it came out (yea, yea, I know) & not even for the love story. Just for THE story.

As many of you probably know, today marks the 100th anniversary of Titanic hitting the iceberg. April 14, 1912 at approx. 11:40 pm (according to Wiki, guys) is when it all started. Or I suppose some say it started way before that. That’s not for me to debate here, now. At just 2:20 am on April 15, 1912 the Titanic was sinking deep into the ocean, but not soon to be forgotten.

I guess I’m so fascinated by the whole thing because I can’t even begin to wrap my head around the events that transpired that evening. I’m terrified of going under water so I can’t imagine how it’d feel to be on a sinking ship (I’d only assume I’d be part of 3rd class, the people who didn’t even have a chance). 1,517 people died that night (also from Wiki, see link above). I can’t imagine what it’d feel like to freeze to death in water at 28 °F. Seriously?! I freak out if the temperature outside is colder than 55 °F.

There’s also been a lot of interest stirred since the ship sank. Expeditions leading to photos/videos of the sunken ship. Controversy over how exactly the ship sunk & whether or not artifacts should be removed have all kept Titanic alive & in the news for the past 100 years. I don’t foresee that Titanic will be going anywhere anytime soon, either. I think people will continue with their interest in the unsinkable ship & need to know more information about it with each new controversy/conspiracy that comes to light.

Anyway, I’ve been to Titanic museums, read books, seen documentaries, written papers & done art projects on Titanic. I can’t help it. I can’t get enough. If you, too, want to continue reading, here are some links:

RMS Titanic

Buy Me a Present Here

Retrieval of Artifacts: To do or not to do?

If you want something to watch on TV tomorrow night, check out the History Channel, they have a special coming on called Titanic at 100: Mystery Solved (8 pm eastern time).

Have a good weekend!

BrennaG.

Leave a Reply

