My mom got me out of jury duty like a boss.

As J-Bird & I were sitting in the floor in front of the couch the other day, he commented that he’d never been called for jury duty. Oh, I have, a few years ago. But, I got out of it. I commented nonchalantly. He laughed. You can’t just get out of jury duty. You’re such a liar.

You see, he does know me pretty well. He knows that I say crazy things all the time. This time, however, I was telling the truth. Back in college, I got the dreaded jury duty letter in the mail. I called my mom (of course, duh) to complain that I was wayyy too busy to do this whole jury duty thing, I had college to do.

Growing up, my mom was always the type of mom to write a note to get my brother & I out of everything. I know what you’re thinking: we should have taken on our own problems, my mom babied us (she did), whatever whatever, go ahead & cast your judgemental stares. Anyway, my mom asked me if I wanted her to write me a note to get out of jury duty. We laughed. We both knew she was joking, but only halfway. Then, we wondered if it would actually work.

I sent her the paper work & she wrote the note to the judge explaining that I was a very busy college student & would like to be excused from jury duty. A few days later, I received a letter in the mail telling me that I was excused. I couldn’t make this shit up if I tried.

As for J-Bird, I think I’ve convinced him that they think he’s dead. Whoever they are.

BrennaG.

4 thoughts on “My mom got me out of jury duty like a boss.

  1. No lie. Once, when I got called in for jury duty – we were sitting in the jury room waiting (because that’s all you seem to do when you have jury duty). The guy a few seats next to me craps himself… literally. Needless to say it got him out of jury duty. He should have used your mom to write him a note. It would have gone easier on his pair of pants.

    1. What?! That’s craycray! I’m pretty sure he should have done anything OTHER than that to get him out of jury duty. I only hope this means they don’t call on me for like another 20 years, if its really that boring.

      1. Just don’t get any speeding tickets. That puts your name in the selection bowl all hunger games style.

      2. Oh snap! For realsies? Well I guess I don’t need to worry too much. Due to my extreme paranoia, I drive like an 85 year old grandma. I really need to read those hunger games books, are they any good?

Leave a Reply

