A day long double date & banana spring rolls, oh my.

J-Bird & I don’t make friends easily. I’ve made this clear in earlier posts about myself, but its even harder if you’re trying to make friends as a couple. You know? Finding another couple mildly similar to us to hang out with that can stand us for more than 5 minutes. Introducing Haley & Justin. They’re our couple. Our best friend couple. We met them about a year ago living on the other side of the state.

Thing is, J-Bird & I moved about 4 months ago. Today was the first time we’d gotten to see Haley & Justin since the big move. The 4 of us made big plans, all had to request today off…so we made a huge deal of it & made a day date of it. We met in the middle of the state, J-bird & I driving an hour and a half to see them…all the while J-Bird nodding off or lecturing me about how I have two kinds of singing: 1. the kind where I try to sing really bad or 2. the kind where I try to sing good & it sounds alright. You’d think he’d be used to me singing in the car by now, duh.

We ended up eating lunch & going shopping with Haley & Justin for a while at the nearby mall, then going to see The Vow. Which, I thought might end up on my “Ugly Cry” list, but no. Just no. I was really disappointed by the choppy storyline & the tension between it trying to be about a love story or about Rachel McAdams’ character finding out who she really is. Have any of you seen the movie? Thoughts?

We ended the day long double date with dinner at P.F. Chang’s, which I had only been to one other time. The food was pretty good, the service was terrific, but the highlight of the meal (& potentially the day) was the dessert. OMFG. J-Bird & I ordered the banana spring rolls to share…it was like I had fallen in love all over again & gone to heaven. Pineapple ice cream, bananas, various fruits, drizzled with caramel. No joke…please go to your nearest P.F. Chang’s & order this dessert like now.

Saying goodbye to our best friend couple was hard, actually. As you can see we basically have to stop earth from spinning to get to see them so we don’t know when that’ll happen again, but today turned out to be a terrific day.

BrennaG.

Leave a Reply

