The fourth anniversary of my 21st birthday.

Today is, as you may have guessed, my birthday! In honor of that, today’s post will highlight my craziest birthday, most memorable birthday, the weirdest thing I ever bought while drunk on my birthday, & what I really want for my birthday this year. Here we go!!!

1. My Craziest Birthday EVVERR. This one requires a little background info to make sense (& still probably won’t make that much sense). So, in high school, I had this BFF (yea, we all went there, had that) & we did everything together. I know, in hindsight, super cheesy. But, our birthdays were only a few weeks apart, so for like 4 years we picked a Saturday between our birthdays & threw a party together for all of our friends. I know, could I possibly get any more Disney movie cheesy right now? Its literally like I turned into a character from Hannah Montana. Anyway, for our 15th birthday, our parents agreed to let us rent out a nearby club to have our party there. Yea you heard me right. We were turning 15. I know, I know, I wouldn’t let my child do it either, over my dead body, so on & so forth. IHAVENOIDEAWHATMYPARENTSWERETHINKING. So yea, we rented the entire place out, dressed in clothes that we probably shouldn’t have been wearing at that age & put on our makeup too heavily…& danced. With boys. I know. I have no idea how I didn’t turn out to be a stripper, either.

2. Most Memorable Birthday! So, this one’s just as cheesified as the first, but doesn’t involve the word “stripper” so that’s a step in the right direction. When I turned 12, the Backstreet Boys were the coolest boy band around (well if you were a pre-teen chick that didn’t like N’Sync). It just so happened that they were going to be in the city an hour away from where we were living at the time on the night of my birthday. My parents literally may have done business with coke dealers to get us tickets to this freaking show. But, they got the tickets & we had amazing seats & I was excited for months. So, even though I am no longer a fan (and my fandom only lasted as long as my excitement), it was a very memorable birthday for me & always will be.

3. The Weirdest Thing I Ever Bought While Drunk On My Birthday…was a birdcage. But, in my defense, it was supposed to be decorative, I think. I dunno. I get up to the cashier & she askes me what kind of bird I have…I’m like I don’t have a bird! She’s looking at me like I’ve lost it & I look over & J-bird is walking out the door. That’s how most of our shopping trips end though.

4. What I REALLY Want For My Birthday This Year.

Or really anything with glitter on it. Or just a tub of glitter. I’m quite simple really.

BrennaG

6 thoughts on “The fourth anniversary of my 21st birthday.

  1. Today is my half-birthday.

    (In my family, we celebrate these not-so-momentous occasions with half a song and half a cake – the other half of which goes to a neighbor selected at random – and zero gifts. Though this year, I may break with tradition and ask for half a tub of glitter.

    1. Oh my, Happy Half-Birthday to you!! Funny, J-bird’s half-birthday was three days ago. He makes a point to remind me of this every year. He loves his half birthday almost as much as the real one…perhaps we should steal some of your traditions, sounds like a blast!

      Also, please send a pic if you get a half tub of glitter.

  2. Happy Birthday! Such a 90s kid. I’m surprised you didn’t go to see the Spice Girls movie for your bday. My sister’s is in a few days and that’s what she did that year. I think you missed out. Maybe that was the year you saw the Backstreet Boys.

    1. Kudos to your sister. I never saw the movie, but I collected the stickers out of the quarter machine at my mom’s work. I just got my hair cut & looked in the mirror this morning & thought…damn, I have the Posh Spice signature hair bob. Such a dork.

Leave a Reply

